Home News County Council Department Favorites
San Juan County Auditor

Vehicle Licenses

 

Hours of Operation
10:00 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday
San Juan County Courthouse, First Floor

Directory
License Renewals
Titles - New Vehicles
Titles - Used Vehicles
Titles - New Washington State Resident
Titles - Leased Vehicles
Driver's Licenses and Additional Information
  Contacts


License Renewals

Vehicle licenses expire annually in Washington State. Currently, renewal notices are mailed to owners by the State Department of Licensing. The department is encouraging vehicle owners to receive license renewals by email, as it is likely, in the future, that renewal notices will no longer be mailed. To register your email with the State, please contact the San Juan County Auditor’s Office at 360-378-2161.

Vehicle licenses may be renewed online, by mail, or in person at the San Juan County Courthouse. To renew your vehicle license online, go to the Department of Licensing website and select “Vehicle and Boat Registration,” and follow the directions.

Instructions for renewing by mail are included with the mailed renewal notices

To renew in person, come to the San Juan County Courthouse between 10 am and 4 pm weekdays

 
Titles - New Vehicles

Purchased in-state

In-state dealers do all licensing for vehicles purchased through them.

Purchased out-of state
The following documentation is required:

  • Manufacturers' Statement of Origin (MSO)
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the title. Signatures can be on a title application or added in person at a licensing agency
  • Documentation of the purchase price, either on a bill of sale or invoice from the out-of-state dealer
  • Federal Odometer statement
  • Name and address of lienholder
  • Washington State primary residence address and mailing address, if required

Titles - Used Vehicles

Used Vehicles with a Washington State Title
You are required to transfer the title within 15 days of purchase or you will be charged a penalty of up to $100.00. The following documentation is required:

  • Washington State title or affidavit in lieu of title with proper signatures
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the new title
  • Documentation of purchase price
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 9 years old or newer
  • Name and address of lienholder
  • Washington State primary residence address and mailing address, if required

Used Vehicles with out-of-state plates and documentation
The following documentation is required:

  • Title with proper signatures
  • Notarized signatures of every registered name to be shown on the new title
  • Documentation of purchase price; must be within the range of current blue book value
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 9 years old or newer
  • A Weight slip, if the weight is not shown on the title, is helpful but not required
  • Name and mailing address of lienholder
  • Washington State primary residence address and mailing address, if required

Titles - New Washington State Resident

If you are a new resident to the State of Washington you are required to license and title your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a Washington resident. The following documentation is required:

  • Out-of-state title. If you have a lien holder who is holding your title you will need a photocopy of the title verifying the name and address of your lien holder and the current registration
  • Federal Odometer Statement if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer
  • Weight slip for all vehicles unless the shipping weight is on the title or registration. Weight slips can be obtained at San Juan and Orcas Island transfer stations.
  • Washington State primary residence address and mailing address, if required

Names on the Washington State licensing record will reflect what is on the out-of-state title/registration


Titles - Leased Vehicles

Leased vehicles are normally titled by the lessor. If you have a problem with the title of a leased vehicle, please contact the Washington State Department of Licensing at 360-902-3770.


Driver's Licenses and Additional Information

Driver's License
State Department of Licensing personnel come to Friday Harbor twice monthly, on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month, to issue driver's licenses. They work out of the Fire District 3 training room at 1011 Mullis St. in Friday Harbor. The hours are 10:00 am to 2:00 pm. Call 360-588-8039 for additional information.

Manuals for driving exams are available online at http://dol.wa.gov
Additional Information

Name Change Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Address Change Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Excise tax Washington State Dept. of Revenue
RTA excise tax Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Specialty Plates Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Permits Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Disabled Person Parking Washington State Dept. of Licensing
Frequently asked questions Washington State Dept. of Licensing

Contacts

Kira SableCustomer Service Specialist kiras@sanjuanco.com 360-370-7550
Sandy RoeLead Customer Service Specialistsandyr@sanjuanco.com360-370-7559
Breanda ThompsonCustomer Service Specialist brendat@sanjuanco.com360-370-7552
Kim HerrenkohlChief DeputyAuditorkimh@sanjuanco.com 360-370-7557
Milene HenleyAuditormileneh@sanjuanco.com360-370-7558