Home News County Council Department Favorites
San Juan County Parks & Recreation Commission
  • Link to Current Park & Recreation Commission Meeting Agenda will be available here when agenda is posted.

Parks, Trails, and Natural Areas Plan

Click below to download/view  (Adobe® Acrobat® file).
     Downloadable Parks, Trails, and Natural Areas Plan (11 mbytes)


"The mission of the San Juan County Parks and Recreation Commission is to protect, promote, and enhance our County Parks and recreational opportunities, in keeping with the natural character and beauty of the islands, for the benefit of current and future generations."

The San Juan County Parks and Recreation Commission is a seven member volunteer commission appointed by the County Council. The Parks Commission is made up of two members each from San Juan, Orcas and Lopez Islands and one member from Shaw Island. Commission members are asked to serve a six-year term on the basis of their interest and experience n promoting park activities in San Juan County.

Regular meetings of the Parks Commission are held on the third Thursday of each month in Friday Harbor, unless otherwise ordered by the Executive Committee. Alternately, meetings may be held on Orcas, Lopez, and Shaw Islands as needed.

Parks and Recreation Commission Members

  • Tex Blankenburg, San Juan Island
  • Cy Field, Vice Chair, Shaw Island
  • Bill Scherer, Lopez Island
  • Johannes Krieger, San Juan Island
  • Larry Leyman, Orcas Island
  • Jeffrey Struthers, Chair, Orcas Island   
  • Position vacant, Lopez Island
  • Rick Hughes, County Council Liaison