Home News County Council Department Favorites

San Juan County Land Bank Tax

The "San Juan County Land Bank Tax" (also known as Real Estate Excise Tax or REET) is a tax authorized by the voters of San Juan County (pursuant to the enablement and requirements of Chapters 82.45 and 82.46 RCW):

  • levied on each sale of real property in the county beginning December 6, 1990 for a 12-year period
  • was renewed for an additional 12 years by a nearly 73% majority in 1999
  • is paid by the purchaser at a rate of 1% of the selling price
  • proceeds to be used exclusively for preserving the natural heritage of the San Juan Islands

The purpose of the San Juan County Land Bank is to preserve in perpetuity, areas in the County that have environmental, agricultural, aesthetic, cultural, scientific, historic, scenic, or low-intensity recreational value, and to protect existing and future sources of potable water.

Find out more about the Land Bank.