Charter Review Commission

Background

Adopted by voters in 2005 and put in place in 2006, The San Juan County Home Rule Charter calls for a review by an elected Charter Review Commission after 5 full years of operation under the new form of government, and at least every 10 years thereafter. This is the current version of the San Juan County Charter.

The Charter Review Commission began work on January 21, 2021, electing Kevin Ranker as its Chair and Olivia Roseberry has its Vice Chair. The Commission shall conduct special and regular, public meetings with notices posted on the County’s online calendar. Meetings are currently held via Zoom on Wednesdays, 4:00pm-6:30pm*.

Agendas and Minutes or find meetings in Calendar View

   *Join Zoom Meeting - https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85271643269 or dial +1 253 215 8782, Meeting ID: 852 7164 3269

SJC County Council Member Position and Salary Recommendations (May 10, 2012)

CRC Review Findings (June 2, 2012)

County Organization Chart (2019)

Ordinance 19-2019 Adopting a Biennial Budget for the Years 2020-2021 and Setting Forth the Estimated Revenues and Appropriations

2020-2021 Preliminary Budget Book

Meeting Documents

Created  by Commission members (may include drafts and working documents)

Presentations

As given to the Charter Review Commission by outside parties

CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEES

Committee name Leader Members Meeting Day/TIme
CHARTER REVIEW PROCESS - Preamble, nuts & bolts Bob O'Connell Bill Appel, Kyle Davies, Patty Garcia, Liz Lafferty, Bob O'Connell Tuesday 10am-12pm
ELECTED vs APPOINTED Maureen See David Dehlendorf, Paul Dossett, Tony Ghazel, Dick Grout, Bob O'Connell, Maureen See Monday 10am-11am
ELECTIONS - residency vs. countywide, election observing Tony Ghazel Sharon Abreu, David Dehlendorf, Paul Dossett, Jane Fuller, Tony Ghazel, Tom Starr  Thursday 4pm-5pm
INITIATIVE & REFERENDUM PROCESS Dick Grout David Anderson, Patty Garcia, Dick Grout, Anne Marie Shanks, Liz Lafferty Monday 7pm-8pm
GOVERNANCE - County Council, boards & commissions, budget, transparency, individual islands Dave Anderson Dave Anderson, Janet Brownell, David Dehlendorf, Jane Fuller, Tony Ghazel, Dick Grout, Olivia Roseberry Sunday 4pm-5pm
OPERATIONS - personnel, county procedures, public records Paul Dossett Paul Dossett, Patty Garcia, Olivia Roseberry, Maureen See   TBD
CLIMATE & ENVIRONMENT Anne Marie Shanks Sharon Abreu, Kyle Davies, Dick Grout, Liz Lafferty, Bob O'Connell, Kevin Ranker, Anne Marie Shanks, Tom Starr  Wednesday 10am-12pm
JUSTICE & EQUITY Jane Fuller Sharon Abreu, Kyle Davies, Jane Fuller, Kevin Ranker Monday 4pm-5pm

The 18 members of the Charter Review Commission were elected in the November 3, 2020 election.

MemberEmail
Bob O’Connellrobo@sanjuanco.com
Liz Laffertylizl@sanjuanco.com
Jane Fullerjanef@sanjuanco.com
Kevin Ranker, Chairkevinr@sanjuanco.com
Tony Ghazeltonyg@sanjuanco.com
Janet Brownelljanetb@sanjuanco.com
Anne Marie Shanksannemaries@sanjuanco.com
Sharon Abreusharona@sanjuanco.com
Paul Dossettpauld@sanjuanco.com
Bill Appelbilla@sanjuanco.com
Patty Garcia
pattyg@sanjuanco.com
Tom Starrtoms@sanjuanco.com
Maureen Seemaureens@sanjuanco.com
Kyle Davieskyleda@sanjuanco.com
David Andersondavea@sanjuanco.com
Richard Groutrichardg@sanjuanco.com
David Dehlendorfdavidd@sanjuanco.com
Olivia Roseberry, Vice Chairoliviar@sanjuanco.com


Contact:
Phone:
Email:
Liaison: Mike Thomas


  
Maureen See
   
maureens@sanjuanco.com
   


   
P
   
Patty Garcia
   
pattyg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
P
   
Paul Dossett
   
pauld@sanjuanco.com
   


   
D
   
Dave Anderson
   
davea@sanjuanco.com
   


   
D
   
David Dehlendorf
   
davidd@sanjuanco.com
   


   
R
   
Richard Grout
   
richardg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
B
   
Bill Appel
   
billa@sanjuanco.com
   


   
O
   
Olivia Roseberry
   
oliviar@sanjuanco.com
   


   
J
   
Janet Brownell
   
janetb@sanjuanco.com
   


   
K
   
Kevin Ranker
   
kevinr@sanjuanco.com
   


   
A
   
Anne Marie Shanks
   
annemaries@sanjuanco.com
   


   
T
   
Tony P Ghazel
   
tonyg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
S
   
Sharon Abreu
   
sharona@sanjuanco.com
   


   
J
   
Jane Fuller
   
janef@sanjuanco.com
   


   
R
   
Robert A. OConnell
   
robo@sanjuanco.com
   


   
L
   
Liz Lafferty
   
lizl@sanjuanco.com
   


   
T
   
Thomas Starr
   
toms@sanjuanco.com
   


   
K
   
Kyle Davies
   
kyleda@sanjuanco.com