Elected Prosecuting Attorneys
Do you have any interesting facts about the history of the office of the San Juan County Prosecuting Attorney? If so, we would like to hear from you and add that information to this website.

Thank you!
Randall Gaylord
San Juan County Prosecuting Attorney Circa 1987
Years of Service Name
1994-present Randall K. Gaylord (D), Orcas Island
Elected 1994 [v. Fred Weedon (R)]
Reelected 1998 [v. Paul McIlrath (D)]
Reelected 2002 (unopposed)
Reelected 2006 (unopposed)
Reelected 2010 (unopposed)
Reelected 2014 (unopposed)
Reelected 2018 [v. Nick Power (D)]
1986-1994 Frederick C. Canavor (D), San Juan Island
Appointed 1986
Elected 1986 (unopposed)
Reelected 1990 (unopposed)
1979-1986 Eugene H. Knapp, Jr. (D), Orcas Island
Appointed 1979
Elected 1979 (unopposed)
Reelected 1982 [v. Carla Higginson (R)]
1977-1979 C. Thomas Moser (D), San Juan Island
Appointed September 30, 1977
Elected 1977 (write in)
Reelected 1978 (unopposed)
1975-1977 Michael Redman (D), San Juan Island
Elected 1974 [v. Warren W Russell (R)]
(First full-time prosecutor)
1971-1974 Warren W Russell (R)
January 1959 Warren W Russell
1954-1959 Elmon A. Geneste (R), San Juan Island
Elected 1954
Reelected 1958
1946-1954 Robert F. Buck (R), San Juan Island
Elected 1946
Reelected 1950
1942-1946 Elmon A. Geneste (R), San Juan Island
Elected 1942
1934-1942 Samuel R. Buck (R), San Juan Island
Appointed July 5, 1932
Elected 1932 (unopposed)
Reelected 1938
1929-1932 William S Coghlon
Elected 1926
1920-1928 Samuel R. Buck (R), San Juan Island
Elected 1920
Reelected 1924
1918-1920 Brooke M. Wright (D)
Elected 1918 [v. L.J. Irwin (R)]
1916-1918 F. A. Beltz (R)
Elected 1916 [v. B.M. Wright (D)]
1912 F. P. Christensen (R)
1911-1912 L.J. Irwin (R)
Elected 1911
1910-1911 R. E Morris (R)
1908-1910 R.E. Morris (R)
Elected 1908
1906-1908 William R. Garrett (R)
Elected 1906 [v. Theodore C. Morrow (R)]
1904-1906 William H. Wynne, Jr. (R) (Prosecuting Attorney)
Elected 1904 [v. I.J. Lichtenberg (D)]
1902-1904 Hawley S King (Prosecuting Attorney)
Elected 1902
1900-1902 W H. Thacker (Prosecuting Attorney)
Elected 1900
1898-1900 Hawley S King (R)
Elected 1898 [v. William Braton (People's Party)]
1896-1898 Hawley S King (R)
Elected 1896
1894-1896 W H. Thacker
Elected 1894
1892-1894 W H. Thacker (County Attorney)
Elected 1892
1891-1892 R. E Moody (County Attorney)
Elected 1891
1889 Statehood